Cry

January 31, 2010

Seth: Why do people cry?
….
Maggie: Well… umm… tear ducts operate on a normal basis to lubricate and protect the eye and when you have an emotion they overreact and create tears.
Seth: Why? Why do they overreact?
Maggie: [pause] I don’t know.
Seth: Maybe… maybe emotion becomes so intense your body just can’t contain it. Your mind and your feelings become too powerful, and your body weeps.

[City of Angels, 1998]

I cannot cry in public. I have this theory about the amount of tears one can cry in public, and I have exhausted mine long ago. My primary school teachers and friends are witnesses to that.

And sometimes, I’d watch a sad movie, and cry, and I’d feel this burden lifted from my chest.

Yeah, weird, but whatever works, eh?

My top choices?

1. Armageddon,

2. Endless Love (Korean drama),

3. My Sister’s Keeper,

4. The Notebook,

5. A Walk To Remember,

6. My Girl,

7. Ghost,

8. Romeo + Juliet,

9. Beyond Borders,

… and of course,

10. City of Angels.

Yeah, and I’m not alone on the whole felt-upset?-watch-a-sad-movie-and-cry-your-heart-out routine. This girl actually posted a question in http://www.answers.yahoo.com:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100110194539AAlhIZ4

Any good suggestions for sad movies?

so I know this sounds super depressive but when I’m upset or feeling down I like to watch sad movies that make me cry cause then I can cry at other situations besides my own. I guess it’s a sort of therapy for me. My boyfriend is in the navy and I get to see him about every 3 or 4 months so I end up getting upset a lot. I’ve been watching the same movies over and over thoug so any suggestions of sad movies for me??

Leave a Reply

