Administration Over Education

September 1, 2009

It irks me how a lot of my teachers seemed more bent in bureaucracy than education.

They seemed to care more about administrative details than the things that should have matter most: education.

Like how one student was held back a semester because she filled her grades with numbers rather than letters as supposed (or letters rather than numbers, I forgot). Just because of a couple of typos she cannot graduate with the rest of her class, when she actually has good —even great, grades.

And how my friends submitted her internship report, and received it back with a note to change the font number of the header to match one of the footer. The contents wasn’t marked in anyway, suggesting it wasn’t even read.

And how I got a frown when I said I have returned one week early from my internship.

“When are you supposed to finish your internship period?”

“31st, sir.”

“And today is…”

“It’s the 22nd, sir.”

A frown. “And why did you return early?”

I started a full-of-crap monologue about how I was allowed to leave early because they were very busy at the factory, and my counselor got an addition of 2 eager interns, AND that we have finished our assigned projects.
(They were all facts, of course, except that I ASKED to be allowed to leave early. Of course I didn’t say that in my crapful monologue, I’m not that dumb.)

“This internship is not about assignments or projects. They had a deal with us, and the deal is to let you stay there for two months. Not one month and three weeks, but two months. You are supposed to be allowed to use that two months to fully learn the process going on in the factory.”

Throat-clearing. “Then ask your factory to write a letter stating their reasons to let you leave early.”

Honestly, one week?

Like we even really worked there. All I did was arrive late and go home early and spent the time between that doodling.

Honestly…

I understand that breaking a rule in the laboratory, like not turning off the equipment, should be punished accordingly. It was a simulation of a real factory after all, and in a real factory even when proper cautions have been applied things blew up anyway. Shit happens. So every little precaution is necessary.

But I can’t see what is the essence in holding back a student because she wrote down her grades with letters instead of numbers (or is it numbers instead of letters, I can’t remember). I can’t see the essence of troubling a busy HRD personnel for a silly letter explaining why they did both the factory and the students a favor by letting the latter leave early.

Honestly!

Leave a Reply

