Mary Jane

February 3, 2009

No, not the girl from Spiderman.

Shoes.

A Mary Jane is a trademarked name for shoes or sandals that has a strap (or more than one straps) across the instep and/or around the ankle (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Jane_(shoe)).

A bit confusing? Of course, I copied the words from wikipedia. =p
A little visual aid couldn’t hurt:

A pair patent leather Mary Janes

A pair of patent leather Mary Janes

Pointy-toed Mary Janes

Pointy-toed Mary Janes

Mary Jane dress shoes with vintage buckle 3

Mary Jane dress shoes with vintage buckle ❤

Red Mary Jane Pumps

Red Mary Jane pumps

Ballet flats Mary Jane

Ballet flats Mary Jane

Low-heeled Mary Jane

Low-heeled Mary Jane

Suede Mary Jane

Suede Mary Jane

I’ve been looking for one of these babies in my shopping trips, but I haven’t found any. At least none that I like. Mostly I found ballet flats, or kitten heels, but Mary Janes? No.

My fling with Mary Janes started when I noticed how Suri Cruise wears a lot of Mary Janes. The girl’s only two, so that puts me a little short of pathetic, I suppose, and I don’t care. There’s a huge possibility that I’d found one pair that I like, and then my fling will blossom into a love affair. =p

2 Responses to “Mary Jane”

  1. yesinta Says:

    can u tell me the price of low heeled mary jane?

    • Vie Says:

      ummm no…
      but since there’s so many online shops right now, the easiest way to know the average price should be to google it.
      🙂


Leave a Reply

